In which of the following period in Philippine political history where captaincy general was the administrative head of the Philippines?

What was the Captaincy General of the Philippines 1565 1898?

However, in 1821, following the independence of Mexico, all control was transferred to Madrid.

Captaincy General of the Philippines.

Captaincy General of the Philippines Capitanía General de Filipinas Kapitaniya Heneral ng Pilipinas
• 1870–1873 Amadeo I
• 1886–1898 Alfonso XIII
• 1565–1572 Miguel López de Legazpi

Who is the Spanish Governor-General who governed the Philippines when Jose Rizal was born?

Legazpi served as the first governor of the Philippines, from 1565 until his death.

Who was considered by the Filipinos as the best Governor-General in the Philippines?

Carlos María de la Torre y Navacerrada (1809–1879) was a Spanish soldier and politician. He served as Governor-General of the Philippines from 1869 to 1871, and is considered one of the most beloved Spanish Governors-General assigned to the Philippines.

ЭТО ИНТЕРЕСНО:  Question: Can Vietnamese speak Korean?

Who is the political leader in the Philippines during Spanish period?

A government was formed on the basis of that constitution in January 1899, with Aguinaldo as president of the new country, popularly known as the “Malolos Republic.” Meanwhile, U.S. troops had landed in Manila and, with important Filipino help, forced the capitulation in August 1898 of the Spanish commander there.

What is Spanish period in the Philippines?

The Spanish colonial period of the Philippines began when explorer Ferdinand Magellan came to the islands in 1521 and claimed it as a colony for the Spanish Empire. The period lasted until the Philippine Revolution in 1898.

What happened in pre colonial period in Philippines?

The islands’ precolonial period, during which indigenous peoples engaged in healthy trade with various cultures and economies in the region, gave way to a long colonial period, first under Spain for over 300 years, and then under the United States, during which it came briefly under Japanese occupation in World War II.

What was the political unit of government during Spanish Philippines?

The Provincial Government

The Spaniards created local government units to facilitate the country’s administration. There were two types of local government units – the alcadia and the corregimiento.

Who was the political military gov when Rizal was there?

Governor General of the Philippines

The Filipino historian Gregorio Zaide notes that Polavieja was installed with the help of powerful Spanish friars including the Archbishop of Manila during that time. Polavieja oversaw the court martial and death of Jose Rizal on December 30, 1896.

ЭТО ИНТЕРЕСНО:  Can I drive in Europe with Philippine license?

Who was the last Spanish governor general in the Philippines?

Diego de los Ríos y Nicolau (9 April 1850 – 4 November 1911) was the last Spanish Governor-General of the Philippines.

What is the role of governor general in the Philippines?

The Governor-General of the Philippines was the title of the government executive during the colonial period of the Philippines, governed mainly by Spain and the United States, and briefly by Great Britain and Japan. They were also the representative of the executive of the ruling power.

What historical event in the country that started the Filipino nationalism?

Philippine Revolution

In June 1896, Bonifacio sent an emissary to Dapitan to reach Rizal’s support, but the latter refused for an armed revolution. On August 19, 1896, Katipunan was discovered by a Spanish friar which started the Philippine Revolution.

What is post colonial period in the Philippines?

The Postcolonial Meets the “Ethnic” United States

U.S colonial rule of the archipelago was loosened during the Commonwealth Period of 1935-1946, a period after which the Philippines gained its independence.

What is pre-colonial period?

The pre-colonial period broadly refers to the span of time prior to the introduction of European colonialism in areas across the world.

Where was the Philippine Independence held?


1962, effectively moving the date of Philippine independence from July 4 to June 12—the date independence from Spain was proclaimed in Emilio Aguinaldo’s home in Kawit, Cavite.