Which European country was the colonial power in Indonesia quizlet?

The transmigration program (Indonesian: Transmigrasi, from Dutch, transmigratie) was an initiative of the Dutch colonial government, and later continued by the Indonesian government to move landless people from densely populated areas of Indonesia to less populous areas of the country.

Which is the only country to have colonies both in Mainular and insular Southeast Asia quizlet?

Malaysia is both mainland and insular, with a western portion on the Malay Peninsula and an eastern part on the island of Borneo. Except for the small sultanate of Brunei (also on Borneo), the remainder of insular Southeast Asia consists of the archipelagic nations of Indonesia and the Philippines.

Which European country became the dominant colonial power in Southeast Asia?

Portugal was the first European power to establish a bridgehead in maritime Southeast Asia with the conquest of the Sultanate of Malacca in 1511. The Netherlands and Spain followed and soon superseded Portugal as the main European powers in the region. In 1599, Spain began to colonise the Philippines.

ЭТО ИНТЕРЕСНО:  Does Malaysia have Social Security?

How many countries of Southeast Asia were colonies of France?

Indochina, also called (until 1950) French Indochina or French Indochine Française, the three countries of Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia formerly associated with France, first within its empire and later within the French Union.

Which of these countries is part of insular Southeast Asia quizlet?

Thailand. Thailand includes a compact piece of land on the mainland, along with a long peninsula that extends southward. Which of these countries is part of insular Southeast Asia? Indonesia and the Philippines.

What two countries were once French colonies?

Note: The French colonies of Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia were organized as French Indochina.

What country in Southeast Asia is a city state quizlet?

What country in Southeast Asia is a city-state? Singapore has a birthrate so low (below replacement level) that its population may soon begin to decline.

Who was Indonesia colonized by?

In the 1600s, the Dutch East India Company (VOC) began colonizing parts of Indonesia. After the abolition of the VOC in 1796, the Dutch government gained control over Indonesia, which was then referred to as the Netherlands East Indies.

Which nation was the dominant colonial power in South Asia during the 19th century?

But by the end of the nineteenth century, most of the region was under colonial rule, with the British controlling a majority of South Asia, and the Russian Empire occupying large areas of Central Asia.

Who colonized Southeast Asia?

The major colonizers of Southeast Asia were Europeans, Japanese and the U.S. All in all, there were seven colonial powers in Southeast Asia: Portugal, Spain, the Netherlands, Great Britain, France, the United States, and Japan. From the 1500s to the mid-1940s, colonialism was imposed over Southeast Asia.

ЭТО ИНТЕРЕСНО:  Best answer: What is xylophone called in Indonesia?

Which European country was the colonial power in Indonesia?

For example, when you talk to an Indonesian individual about the colonial period (whether the individual is highly educated or uneducated) he/she will say that Indonesia was colonized by the Dutch for three and a half centuries.

When was Indochina colonized by France?

France obtained control over northern Vietnam following its victory over China in the Sino-French War (1884–85). French Indochina was formed on 17 October 1887 from Annam, Tonkin, Cochinchina (which together form modern Vietnam) and the Kingdom of Cambodia; Laos was added after the Franco-Siamese War in 1893.

Who colonized Vietnam?

French Colonization

The French colonized Vietnam in the mid-1800s, and over the next century exploited the land and forced the people into indentured servitude. It was during this time that Ho Chi Minh began using the banners of communism and nationalism to unite Vietnam’s people.

Which of these countries is part of insular Southeast Asia?

The insular region of Southeast Asia includes the countries of Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, East Timor, Indonesia, and the Philippines. Of the Southeast Asian countries, East Timor most recently gained its independence, as was mentioned in the previous lesson.

What is the old name of Indonesia?

Formal Name: Republic of Indonesia (Republik Indonesia; the word Indonesia was coined from the Greek indos—for India—and nesos—for island). Short Form: Indonesia. Former Names: Netherlands East Indies; Dutch East Indies.

Which city is the capital of Cambodia quizlet?

The capital city is Bangkok. The capital city is Phnom Penh.

ЭТО ИНТЕРЕСНО:  Is Miss Saigon An opera?